close X

World class Uveitis care - right on your doorstep

What is Uveitis

The uvea is the middle layer of the eye. It is comprised of three elements - the iris, the ciliary body and the choroid. When any part of the uvea becomes inflamed, which may be due to an injury, infection or underlying disease, it is called Uveitis. If left untreated, the eyesight can be seriously damaged.

There are many different types of Uveitis, depending on which part of the uvea is affected. The three main categories of Uveitis are:

Anterior Uveitis - Inflammation of the iris or inflammation of the iris and the ciliary body. This is the most common type of uveitis, accounting for 75% of cases.
Intermediate Uveitis - Affecting the area behind the ciliary body and the retina. It tends to occur in childen, teenagers and young adults.
Posterior Uveitis - Affecting the area at the back of the eye, the choroid and the retina.
The length of time an individual may suffer from this condition is hard to tell. Acute Uveitis lasts for a few weeks and may reoccur, whereas chronic Uveitis lasts for more than three months, with symptoms that can vary from day to day.

Learn more...

Who is at risk?
How uveitis affects our vision
How uveitis is treated
Find a uveitis specialist in your area by using the feature at the top right of this page or see a list of all our practices across the U.K.
See what makes CESP a very special patient experience
Discover what others say about us
Download more information about CESP and this condition
Find a Consultant in your area

To locate a CESP consultant who specialises in the treatment of a specific condition close to you


Enter Full Postcode (e.g. BH1 6AB)

Select Your Condition

Click FIND to see a choice of CESP Consultant Practices closest to you

Make an enquiry

What is the nature of your enquiry?

Make an enquiry

Request a Call Back

Make an Appointment

The CESP Experience

CESP provides world class eye care, delivered locally across the U.K. by consultant practitioner specialists.